ABPOPPM Banner ABPOPPM Medallion

ABPOPPM Diplomate receives "Excellence in Education Award"

Lester J. Jones, D.P.M.
James W. Stavosky, DPM

Dr. James W. Stavosky was the recipient of the California Podiatric Medical Association 2010 Excellence in Education Award, presented at the 2010 CPMA House of Delegates this past June in Anaheim, CA. The award was accepted on Dr. Stavosky’s behalf by Samuel Merritt University’s President Sharon Diaz.

Dr. Stavosky serves on the ABPOPPM Board of Directors and as Chair of the ABPOPPM Examination sub-committee.

Dr. Stavosky is in Private Practice at Daly City Podiatry Group. He also serves as an attending at San Francisco Center for Advanced Wound Card, is an Adjunct Professor at the California School of Podiatric Medicine at Samuel Merritt College and is Chief of Podiatric Medicine and Surgery at Seton Medical Center.


ABPOPPM Diplomate Receives Mirror Award at Cherry Blossom Dermatology Seminar

Dr. Harvey Lemont, DPM, diplomate of the Board was recently presented with the Mirror Award in recognition of his many years of work in teaching, research, and leadership in the field of podiatric dermatology.

The annual Cherry Blossom Seminar, sponsored by the American Society of Podiatric Dermatology, was held this past weekend in Baltimore, MD. It was very well-received by the over 125 podiatrists, 12 prominent lecturers, and 22 exhibitors who participated. Among the exhibitors were five laser companies because of the increased interest in laser use for skin and nail disorders.


ABPOPPM President Receives APMA Award of Excellence

Lester J. Jones, D.P.M.
Lester J. Jones, DPM

Immediate-past APMA President, Kathleen Stone, DPM, presented two Awards of Excellence today to APMA members. Lester J. Jones Jr., DPM, and Lawrence A. Lavery, DPM, MPH, received the awards, which are given to members in recognition of outstanding national accomplishments in scientific, professional, or civic endeavors. Nominees for the Award of Excellence also demonstrate outstanding service to APMA and unimpeachable character.

Dr. Jones has been an instrumental diplomat for podiatric medicine. He has forged lasting ties with allopathic medicine through his service at the Greater Los Angeles VA, where he reorganized the Division of Podiatric Medicine and Surgery and markedly expanded its scope of practice, while simultaneously rebuilding its residency programs. He has helped podiatric medicine reach educational parity with allopathic and osteopathic medicine through his many leadership roles with the Council on Podiatric Medical Education and now as Executive Associate Dean for Academic Affairs at the College of Podiatric Medicine at Western University of Health Sciences.


Diplomate Receives 2011 APMA Rising Star Award

Lee C. Rogers, DPM
Lee C. Rogers, DPM

Lee C. Rogers, DPM, diplomate of the Board, received the 2011 APMA Rising Star Award in Washington, D.C. at the House of Delegates Meeting on March 20, 2011. Dr. Rogers is the Associate Medical Director of the Amputation Prevention Center at Valley Presbyterian Hospital in Los Angeles, CA. He is the chair of the Foot Care Council at the American Diabetes Association and co-course director of the Global Diabetic Foot Conference (DFCon) held annually in Hollywood, CA.

APMA Past-president Kathleen Stone said, "Dr. Rogers has already established a level of respect among the medical community that is usually achieved much later in one's career."

In his acceptance speech, Dr. Rogers said, "In America we are facing our own tsunami, except ours is a wave of diabetes. There are 26 million Americans with diabetes and an additional 79 million more with pre-diabetes. That's 1/3rd of the US population!"

The Rising Star Award is given to a member who has been in practice for less than 10 years in recognition of outstanding national accomplishments in scientific, professional, or civic endeavors.


Diplomate Achieves American College of Healthcare Executives Fellowship Status

Steven L. Goldman, DPM
Steven L. Goldman, DPM

Congratulations to Steven L. Goldman, DPM, Chief of Podiatry at the New York Harbor VAMC on achieving Fellowship status in the American College of Healthcare Executives. This accomplishment recognizes Dr. Goldman's completion of an MBA and satisfying the requirements of the college to obtain fellowship status.

Dr. Goldman serves as the current ABPOPPM Treasurer. He is also Chairs the ABPOPPM Case Review Committee and is a member of the ABPOPPM Examination Committee.


APWCA Names 10 Wound Care Professionals as "Masters"

APWCA 2011 Masters
(L-R) Kathleen Satterfield, DPM, Gerit Mulder, DPM, PhD, Jeffrey Niezgoda, MD, Robert Bartlett, MD, Steven R. Kravitz, DPM, Thomas Serena, MD, and Janice Beitz, PhD, RN
(Not pictured: Lawrence Harkless, DPM)

The American Professional Wound Care Association (APWCA) honored ten wound care professionals with the designation of "Master" during the recent APWCA 2011 National Clinical Conference. This designation of membership is presented to those who are selected by a committee of the association and approved by the Board of Directors. The "Master" designation was initiated in 2010 and serves as a mechanism to recognize key opinion leaders who have impacted wound care through education, research, and advocacy.

ABPOPPM recipients of this prestigious recognition include: Drs. Lawrence Harkless, Steven R. Kravitz, Gerit Mulder, and Kathleen Satterfield.

The American Board of Podiatric Orthopedics and Primary Podiatric Medicine
3812 Sepulveda Boulevard, Suite 530, Torrance, California 90505
Phone: (310) 375-0700 • Fax #1: (310) 375-1386 • Fax #2: (310) 375-1589 • Email: admin@abpoppm.org

Copyright © 2011
Our friends: Dubai deals Whitening Strips